Recipies

Soothing Balm

Sensitive skin is just plain awful. I have suffered from sensitive skin and psoriasis since I was in high school. After college it became more clear that my skin could not handle lotions or detergents with fragrances. I began using unscented products and became a lotion junkie, I was incredibly picky and tried just about every “extra strength”/healing lotion on the market. Nothing really helped, most were a temporary relief.  After I began making my own lotion, I was determined to make a balm that would soothe my psorasis and help my dry cracked nurse hands. I wanted something simple but effective, and I wanted it to include essential oils that could aid in healing and soothing my skin. This recipe is what I have been using for a few years now, although I am constantly tweaking it and trying new oils. Below I have given my foundation recipe that has been the most effective. Surprisingly, when I last saw my Dermatologist she was impressed that my homemade cream has helped my psoriasis so much!

Let’s get to what ingredients are in my healing balm…The healing ingredients are olive oil, coconut oil, sunflower oil, shea butter, jojoba oil, beeswax and essential oils.

  • Olive oil contains Vitamin E which helps restore skin smoothness.
  • Coconut oil contains antioxidants, has antibacterial properties, and is very moisturizing for skin.
  • Sunflower oil is high in oleic acids and vitamins A,D, and E.
  • Shea butter is intensely moisturizing for rough skin, as well as high in vitamins A and E.
  • Jojoba oil is actually a liquid plant wax, that closely mimics our own skin sebum.
  • Beeswax contains anti-allergenic and anti-inflammatory properties that soothe irritated skin, it also helps seal in moisture to the skin.

In today’s recipe I used lavender and tee tree essential oils. I usually use frankincense and  lavender, but I was all out of frankincense, so I went for my next best blend! This recipe utilizes a double boiler to melt all the ingredients together. I use a large glass bowl over a small pan with 1-2 inches of water. I let the water come to a boil on medium heat and then place my glass bowl on top, just be sure to use oven mitts and a heat safe glass bowl! Once you make this lotion you will also notice is it “greasy” in texture, but it does settle in your skin nicely after a few minutes. There is no water or emulsifiers in this recipe so it is a true balm not a lotion. Although, once whipped, I find it to work beautifully as a lotion for my dry skin. But if you have more normal or oily skin you may prefer this as a spot treatment on stubborn patches or a hand/foot cream.

Whipped Soothing Balm

  • 1/2c. Olive Oil
  • 1/4c. Coconut Oil
  • 1/2c. Shea Butter
  • 1/2c. Sunflower Oil
  • 1/4c. Jojoba Oil
  • 2tbsp. beeswax pellets
  • 30drops of essential oil (May use one or multiple oils, total drops to equal 30)

Prepare a pan with 1-2inches of water. Combine all ingredients in a large glass bowl. Once water is boiling, place the glass bowl on top of the pan. Turn your heat to low, so that the water in the pan remains at a gentle simmer. Stir the ingredients in your bowl frequently, once melted turn off your heat source and remove your bowl (with oven mitts) to cool. Allow ingredients cool for 20mins on the counter, then add essential oils and stir. Next place the bowl in the fridge to complete cooling.  After the mixture firms up in the fridge it is ready to whip. You will know the mixture is ready to whip when you press on the lotion and it resembles room temperature butter (it is firm,but has a slight give and will leave a thumbprint). Use either a hand or stand mixer with the whisk attachments. Whip on low for 1 min to loosen the lotion from the sides of the bowl, then whip on med-high for 3-5 minutes until the lotion has become lighter in color and consistency. Store in airtight jars for 3 months at room temperature or 6 months in the fridge.

One thought on “Soothing Balm

Leave a Reply

