Natural Living · Recipies

Perfect Lip Balm

I guess you could say I am a little bit obsessed with lip balm. Confession…I have a tube of it in almost every room of my house and multiple in my purse! So I suppose you could say I am a lip balm snob.Since transitioning to cleaner products, I have had good and bad experiences with natural lip balm products. Some lip balms were great, but they cost was a small fortune for a tiny tube or pot. Others went on great but did not last; I felt that within 20mins the balm was gone and my lips still dry as ever. I began to search the internet for an amazing recipe but at that point I still had not jumped on the make your own products ship. I was nervous to say the least! These thoughts kept running through my mind. “The initial cost of products can be startling. What if I make something and hate it? What if I mess up the recipe and ruined the ingredients I just spent all this money on?”

Well after weeks of indecision, I decided to buy ingredients to make lotion and lip balm. The awesome thing about making most natural products is that you can buy 5-6 different ingredients and make multiple types of products! This lip balm recipe is so simple and works perfectly. It hydrating and moisturizes your lips while not being too sticky or greasy. I have tweaked this recipe to my liking, so I hope you do too! Give it a try I hope you won’t be disappointed!

Perfect Lip Balm

  • 2 tablespoons Beeswax pellets
  • 2 tablespoons oil (coconut, almond or sunflower)
  • 2 tablespoons shea butter
  • 1/2 tsp raw honey
  • 20 drops essential oil (peppermint, vanilla or lavender)
  • Pipettes
  • Lip Balm tubes

This lip balm can also be put into a pot or tin as well, but I would decrease the beeswax to 1.5tablespoons. You will also need a double boiler set up, I take a small pot with about 1 inch of water and turn the heat to medium. I make sure to put my ingredients in a glass bowl that will sit easily on top of the pot. Try to work quickly when transferring the mixture from the bowl to the tubes because it solidifies quickly, hence my limited photos. But if it does solidify before your finished, pop it back on the double boiler and melt again. Easy! Now off to the instructions!

  1. Prepare a small pot with 1inch of water, set heat to medium to bring water to a simmer. Also, open tubes and set caps aside. Ensure pipette is next to tubes.Blog2
  2. Measure out beeswax, oil and shea butter into a glass bowl that will sit easily on top of prepared double boiler.                                       Blog1
  3. Place bowl on top of pot, stir continuously until mixture is melted.
  4. Add honey and stir till honey dissolves. Take the bowl off the heat.
  5. Add essential oils off the heat and stir.
  6. Begin to transfer melted mixture to lip balm tubes with the pipette.
  7. Allow tubes to cool and replace caps.

Blog3

 

I hope that you take the leap and give this recipe a try! Here is a few extra pics of the kiddos helping while I made my lip balm, these kids love helping in the kitchen!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Perfect Lip Balm

    1. My little Vanna is pretty adorable! She was like “Mommy take a picture of me!” I bought the pretty much everything off amazon. The tubes can be a wide variety of prices so I tried to get the cheapest price with the most tubes in a package 🙂 Plant therapy also has great oils, butters and beeswax!

      Like

  1. Thank you for the info….I’ll look into that as all the lip balms I’ve tried tend to dry out my lips more and I find myself reapplying all the time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

